Our Department

UBC Department of Chemistry commits to ensuring an equitable and inclusive environment for all students, faculty, and staff

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

UBC Chemistry is committed to ensuring that our department is an equitable and inclusive environment in which all students, faculty, and staff can thrive. Equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI) underpin excellence in education and research; the department members have a shared responsibility to uphold a high standard of EDI in the workplace.

We acknowledge that we work on the traditional, ancestral, and unceded territory of the Musqueam people, in a place where work and learning have always been part of a way of life. We reflect on this as we work, and learn from our work and each other.

Goals of Chemistry EDI Committee

The efforts of this committee are geared towards fostering a safe and respectful environment in which to pursue scholarship, where everyone feels they belong as a valued member. We aim to advise the department on ways to create a welcoming, inclusive community, and on identifying and incorporating best practices for equity and diversity within our policies, procedures, and practices. Events organized by the EDI committee will be advertised on the Chemistry Department upcoming event list. In addition, the website for the graduate student group, Chemists for Diversity and Inclusion (CDI) has an updated calendar for EDI events across campus.

Committee Members

Amanda Brown

Staff

amanda@berlinguettegroup.com

Tori Christianson

Staff

chemcom@chem.ubc.ca

Ryoga Hojo

PhD Student

ryogah@chem.ubc.ca

Katherine Krause

PhD Student

kdkrause@chem.ubc.ca

Anka Lekhi (Committee Chair)

Associate Professor of Teaching

anka@chem.ubc.ca

Natalie LeSage

PhD Student

natalie@berlinguettegroup.com

Kristin Orians

Associate Professor

korians@mail.ubc.ca

Chris Orvig

Professor

orvig@chem.ubc.ca

Vani Verma

PhD Student

vermav@chem.ubc.ca

Resources

Get Educated

Get Support