News & Events

Congratulations to Rhett Baillie!

Rhett Baillie Named Recipient of the 2015 Edward Piers Memorial Award in Organic Chemistry

This annual award is offered in memory of Dr. Edward Piers and in celebration of his distinguished career in the Department of Chemistry.  It is awarded to a graduate student in any branch of organic chemistry (including synthetic, bioorganic, organometallic, or materials) who demonstrates qualities of academic excellence, experimental skill, and dedication to the field through service and leadership.

This year’s recipient of the award is Rhett Baillie whose research in the Legzdins group is sponsored by The Dow Chemical Company and is currently focused on the development of transition-metal catalysts for the functionalization of hydrocarbons, particularly methane, ethane, and propane.